PAIN

May 26, 2009

Ok, here’s a very deep thought for you.  Pain hurts.  I know, tough to comprehend, but you’d agree its true.  I have many friends who are going through very hard times right now and so many of them seem to be  the last people that ‘deserve it’

….  or maybe they are  the first who should get it.  Why?  Because God trusts those who will be shaped into world changers with pain.

I’ve experienced my share, i wouldn’t go back and avoid it if i even could.

Why?  (by the way, that question is the most asked during painful times, i’m convinced) because God uses pain to accomplish the most.  What’s the most pain anyone ever experienced?  Jesus, and his death on the cross.  But look what was accomplished through the most pain ever, the most gain ever- ever in the history of mankind- our way back to God.

Look at every single difference maker in the Bible, Jesus, Job, Paul, King David, Jeremiah (the weeping prophet), Isaiah, all the disciples, the old testament prophets.  What did they ALL have in common besides their faith?  Pain.  And every time God used their pain, their difficult situation for His purposes in the end.

You see, it is wonderful when we are blessed with ‘good’ things in life – money, or a wife/husband, or kids, promotions, or houses or cars, whatever.  Yes, those things are good- but what is better?  Well, God might say pain.  Because of what it produces.

Look at it this way, God trusts us with pain.  A gift.  The book of James says ‘consider it pure joy when you face trials of many kinds’ (look it up for the rest)  PURE JOY=PAIN?  guess so.

We have an eternity waiting for us of bliss and sinless society, perhaps we should embrace the pain now- after all it’s our only chance to do so for Him – to suffer for Christ.  It’s your only chance- and this life is a vapor, friends.

Next thing you know, you’re standing before God.  It WILL happen. Let’s literally hug pain to us when it comes- and find out what God will do through the pain, instead of just praying for it to go away.  What a waste a trial is, if all we do is move it to the back of our minds or try to drown it away with some vice until its gone.

It doens’t mean we don’t grieve.  It doesn’t mean we aren’t real with God and cry out to Him- even question Him, He’s big, He can handle it.  What’s worse is if we just turn FROM Him or grow cold to Him.

Embrace pain my friends, and remind me of this blog when my next trial comes. 🙂

7 Responses to “PAIN”

  1. Well said Brian ! I like the deluge song that says:
    “Open up the sky fall down like rain
    We don’t want blessings we want You”
    People usually don’t like to talk about pain, blessings are more “positive”. God bless you

  2. Laura said

    I’m glad you wrote this Brian. I’m had a horrible day at work, and seem to have that every day lately with work- this made me remember that God has a plan for every trial in our life. 🙂 It might not be fun at the time, but He’s showing us something and shaping us into who He wants us to be…just not always easy to remember. So thanks!!

  3. scottrodgers said

    Holy smokes. Bruss, you are blogging. Nice. I’ll be a subscriber. Go, tell it on the mountain that @brianbruss is blogging!!!!

  4. Deziray said

    Great post! I agree, I have been through some painful situations but looking back I welcome that pain. It molded me, He molded me!

  5. Jason said

    Like sunshine and rain. Love you man! You can read my blogg too!
    just search in wordpress for A loser’s guide to Christianity.
    Thanks for keeping my eyes to the cross. Pain sucks..the funny thing is, God knows this! Much Love!
    JZ

  6. Mike Etzler said

    Brian,
    I couldn’t agree with you more!! The only questions left are when will I become a world-changer to redeem some of that pain; why do I keep forgetting all that He’s done for me? Blessings my friend.
    Mike

  7. Lisa said

    Subscribing!

Leave a comment